litesoftware.blogg.se

Can i dual boot my mac for video games
Can i dual boot my mac for video games














Now, the secret, for the partition that you want to put Ubuntu on, be sure that you just format the partition as “free space” as when you are installing Ubuntu, you can just select the automated installation option of “choose largest available space.” Best thing to do this with is the Disk Utility that comes on the OSX Installation Disk. So, I formatted the partition for the OSX side, as the usual recommended “Mac OS Extended (journaled)”. Now the secret here is to format the partitions correctly. Basically, I allocated about 20 gigs to Ubuntu, and the rest (the majority) to OSX. I always did a few partitions (2, to be precise). I’m just going to list out what I did (with some warnings)…I am not an expert at this by any means.

#CAN I DUAL BOOT MY MAC FOR VIDEO GAMES INSTALL#

This is an important step because it is a lot easier to just wipe the disk and do a clean install with a couple of partitions. I started out by deciding that I really didn’t care about what was installed on my Powerbook. It’s sort of the same reason that climbers climb mountains, “because they are there.” It’s also a nice way to learn Linux/Unix and still be able to “relax” with a quick booting to OSX. I did it because I hadn’t done it before. But dual-boot on a Powerbook? What’s the point? I had already installed many different versions of Ubuntu on another machine that I had (as well as other versions of linux including Scientific Linux, RedHat and others), so I knew what I was getting into. So, with Google as my friend, I quickly embarked on this journey this afternoon. Yes, don’t forget, OSX is unix ((Please see this comment for some clarification)) with a lot of great eye candy. So, I figured that I would have some fun with my 12″ Powerbook and set it up to dual boot with my favorite Linux flavor (next to OSX, of course) Ubuntu. And a bit envious of those Intel-macs that can dual boot to Windows (or run Parallels).














Can i dual boot my mac for video games